HomeSite Map Welcome to the Wildlife Animals


Whale Gifts

Whale is the common name for various marine mammals of the order Cetacea. The term whale is sometimes used to refer to all cetaceans, but more often it excludes dolphins and porpoises, which are also cetaceans but belong to the suborder Odontoceti. This suborder also includes the sperm whale, killer whale, pilot whale, and beluga whale. The suborder Mysticeti (baleen whales), are filter feeders that feed on small organisms caught by straining seawater through a comblike structure found in the mouth called baleen. This suborder includes the blue whale, the humpback whale the bowhead whale and the minke whales. All Cetacea have forelimbs modified as fins, a tail with horizontal flukes, and nasal openings on top of the head.

Baleen Whales

All About Baleen Whales

Baleen Whales are part of the order of large aquatic animals, called Cetacea, that have flippers, a horizontally flattened tail a breathing spout and no hind limbs. The Cetacea scientific order includes: whales, dolphins and porpoises. The word “cetacean” comes from the Greek word for whale, “ketos”.

Cetaceans are divided into two suborders: the Odontoceti (toothed whales) and Mysticeti (baleen whales).

Typically female Baleen whales are about 5 percent longer than males of the same species. Baleen whales have well developed hearing, adapted to hearing underwater, and adapted to hear lower frequency sounds.

Most species of baleen whales give birth to a single calf, occasionally twins are born to baleen whales but rarely are they able to survive due to a limited milk supply.

About the Author
Jacob Maddox manages content for Wildlife Animals an educational wildlife and animal website. Jacob also guest writes for Dog Pound

Whale Gifts




Copyright © 2005-2013 DR Management
All rights reserved
Home | Wildlife Logos | About Whales | Marine Animals | Wildlife Photos